Andrew Breitbart: Mall Cop

Cow Towing to Other Countries

It’s Not a Toomah

with 5 comments

Maybe I was out-of-town or something, but it seems like, one day, late last summer, I turned on the computer and suddenly every hard-right conservative hated Arnold Schwarzenegger.  I’m not implying that they don’t have good reasons, I’m just confused.  What did he do?  Is it just the budget thing?  A lot of states are having budget problems.  Someone enlighten me in the comments.

I bring this up because Skip “I Give Everybody a Parenthetical Nickname” Press, who once street-teamed for Schwarzenegger, is now solidly behind the effort to recall him from office.

I think he’s wrong for several reasons:

1) In general, I think recalls should only be used in extraordinary cases where there’s clear wrongdoing (and even then, impeachment is a cleaner option).  One of the things that worried me most about the Gray Davis thing was that it set a precadent for recall on sole basis of unpopularity.  At the time, I argued that Republicans would come to regret using the tactic.  Just wait until the next election, guys!  There’s a reason we have them so often!

2) The Gray Davis recall was an absolute circus.  Skip, the only reason you’re stuck with Schwarzenegger now is because of the recall madness.  Dude never would’ve won first-time election through the normal process.  No way he makes it out of a California GOP primary without being the incumbent.  

But anyhow, I’m no fan of Scharzenegger, so whatever.  I’m mainly covering this post to talk about this bit:

And that was before I had much of an inkling about the wickedness of Nancy Pelosi, whom we must remember represents the Haight-Ashbury district of Baghdad by the Bay, aka San Francisco

What?  I really don’t get the “Baghdad by the Bay” insult.  I thought, like, the Iraqis are our friends now?  And that it was only Hussein we hated to begin with, right?  We ❤ the Iraqi people, right?  We were there to help them out!  Zah?

Written by dieblucasdie

April 16, 2009 at 4:13 pm

Posted in COMEDY

Tagged with ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Baghdad by the Bay” is an affectionate term given to the city by local columnist Herb Caen long before Saddam Hussein was our sworn enemy.

    Elvis

    April 17, 2009 at 12:28 am

  2. Huh, you learn something new every day.

    dieblucasdie

    April 17, 2009 at 12:51 am

  3. Seriously, though, explain the sudden Schwartzenegger hate among conservatives! I’m really not being catty this time; I’m genuinely confused.

    dieblucasdie

    April 17, 2009 at 12:53 am

  4. It’s easy: Schwartzenegger turned Left.

    He bought into Global Warming Legislation and higher taxes. Increased spending.

    Conservatives aren’t a cult of personality; they prefer principles over politics.

    Elvis

    April 17, 2009 at 4:10 am

  5. I don’t expect people on either end of the political spectrum to keep reppin’ for politicians who don’t share their values, just because they have the correct letter next to their names (I almost included a line in this piece saying conservatives should focus their efforts on gearing up for a Ned Lamont/Pat Toomey-style primary challenge rather than on a recall).

    I was just curious because it seemed like the fall from grace happened awfully fast for Schwartzenegger. It wasn’t that long ago people were talking about changing the Constitution to allow him to run for president. I wasn’t sure if it was just the budget crisis or if there was more to it. So, thanks!

    dieblucasdie

    April 17, 2009 at 4:22 pm


Leave a Reply

