Andrew Breitbart: Mall Cop

Cow Towing to Other Countries

Pigman, Away!

with 2 comments

pigmanAs I haven’t blogged about the absurdly-named Bosch Fawstin yet, a bit of context:  He’s a struggling comic/graphic artist who found his niche after 9/11 drawing “Pigman,” a rabidly anti-Muslim (even for Big Hollywood) comic featuring a dude who dresses up like a Pig to kill Muslims.  I am not making that up, sadly.

Today he has a drawing applying the tired old “I’m Spartacus” thing to Geert Wilders, the controversial Dutch politician and American talk radio’s favorite hobbyhorse, thanks to his recent problems gaining entry into the UK and Canada.  

Geert Wilders is a man who comes off as if he cannot tell a lie and his stand against the Islamization of the Netherlands has been so effective that his political party, the Freedom Party, has become the most popular political party among his countrymen. The above drawing is in support of Wilders, whose own country is prosecuting him for telling the truth about Islam in his film. The film dramatizes Islam itself (key passages from the Koran) via the words and actions of Muslims animated by this ideology. 

It angers up the blood every time conservatives cherrypick quotes from the Koran and are like, “Aha!  See!  Tolerance be damned, every single Muslim is evil!”

So here are a few key passages from the Bible:

Matthew 10:34-39

Do not think that I came to bring peace on the earth; I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I came to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law; and a man’s enemies will be the members of his household. He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me; and he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of Me. He who has found his life will lose it, and he who has lost his life for My sake will find it.

The synoptic parallel, Luke 12:49

I have come to cast fire upon the earth; and how I wish it were already kindled!

Aha!  See!  I defy anyone to prove to me that Christianity is a so-called “religion of peace.”

Written by dieblucasdie

April 6, 2009 at 6:18 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It seems so disingenuous to me when people like this attempt to engage the Qur’an at all, not because of the nature of their claims, but because their whole approach is such a butchery of the polemic mode.

    Polemic can’t be founded on that sullen resentment these guys have in spades, but requires a fascinated obsession, a genius of loathing. It requires a knowledge of self (I’ve just noticed that it seems so much of Ben Shapiro’s work can be summed up as, “If X means Y, then I guess I must be Z”, cf: his ‘seriously guys I don’t like those public service ads’ piece) and a nearness to the object of your polemic.

    The Catholic Church has a long history of producing great anti-Islamic polemicists, some of whom happened to also be respected scholars of Islam (qv Henri Lammens). If guys like that are signal, then I guess Ben Shapiro must be the Platonic Ideal of noise.

    Die Rote Fahne

    April 6, 2009 at 9:42 pm

  2. Yeah, that’s sort of the point I’m trying to make here, in a much more oblique and bitchy way. Being a Catholic, I know full well the traditional gloss on that bit from Matthew. The reason I picked that passage is because it is, in fact, the same gloss that you’ll often hear liberal Muslims or Islam apologists give, ie “Oh, uh, yeah, that’s supposed to be a *metaphorical* war. On sin. Or something.”

    I do sort of love that Fawstin thinks Muslims are literally *afraid* of pork, though.

    My point being

    dieblucasdie

    April 6, 2009 at 11:30 pm


Leave a Reply

